Let’s be real here, our bodies are awesome

I’ve been thinking about my body a lot lately. Since starting a weight lifting program, I’ve been kind of forced to. How much I am lifting, how fast I’m running, how long I can hold a plank. And through getting stronger, I’m still trying to maintain my flexibility in my yoga practice. I’m working hard but I’m not where I want to be. Yet.

There are a lot of beautifully ripped women at my gym. Sometimes I get jealous. I have to remind myself that fitness is a journey and that although I’m in pretty good shape, the goal I have is going to take a lot of work, and it’s going to be awhile before I get there. And that between now and then, my body’s going to change. That if I give up now because I’m impatient, I will never realize my goals at all.

I think sometimes we get a little judgey out of insecurity. We get down on ourselves for not being the person we want to be, so we start to judge others as a way to comfort ourselves. I know I do it and I know it’s wrong. So let me say this: fitness is for everyone. For fat people, skinny, uncoordinated, already fit, and in between people. You never know if the person you see at the gym working out is on their journey or already arrived. And it’s not for you to say where they should be. If they are happy and healthy that’s all that matters.

My body has changed immensely in the last 4 1/2 years. I went from 120 lbs of lean, long distance non-stop running, cut, size 0, weight lifting, clean vegan diet body, to pregnant at almost 200 lbs, and back down to a healthy weight and back to massive pregnant lady and now working on getting back in shape…again. It’s exhausting. Losing weight, gaining it, losing fat, gaining muscle, fine tuning my diet. I don’t have time for someone else’s criticism or my own!

So I’ll say it again: fitness is for everyone.

I feel like a total dork lifting weights. I have almost no muscle definition, I have super juicy butt and thighs, my post baby mom pooch is still visible. And oh yeah I’m covered in tattoos which probably confuses people quite a bit. But I’m on my way to getting ripped. If I stop now it will never happen.  I’m sure people look at me and wonder what is she doing here? She’s not buff. Nope I’m not. I’m working hard as hell to lift 15 lbs in an incline dumbell bicep curl. But I’m doing it! Yup, fitness, it’s for me. Lifting weights makes me feel like a boss and I’m not going to stop because I’m not already stacked. That’s dumb.
I want to celebrate my body for what it is now and what it has the potential to be  someday.

This is why I’m not taking before pictures. Because there’s nothing wrong with my body the way it is now. I’m curvy, dead sexy and I know it. My husband, he loves my body. It’s squishy in some places and that’s awesome. It doesn’t matter. I’m healthy. Are you squishy? Flabby? Fat? Round? Rolly? I don’t care. You know what’s actually important? Are you active? Eat clean? Working on being a better you? Then you are already winning my friend. If you want to be healthier and leaner and fitter there’s nothing wrong with that either. That’s also awesome. Go do it. Now.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

