Deodorant Recipe

I have extremely sensitive skin. Especially my scalp and arm pits. I know, attractive. My skin has grown increasingly sensitive over time, especially so with each of my pregnancies. When I was pregnant with my first, I got these great big lumps in my arm pits that decreased significantly when I stopped using my antiperspirant. But I was so weary to stop using it because I had always been so afraid that I would smell really bad and would pit out. I was back in my high school head when I cared way too much about what people thought of me. So then I had to realize that I was, you know, carrying life inside me and shouldn’t give a rat’s ass about what people thought about me, especially if I was doing something healthy for myself.

I tried to use store bought natural deodorants, but they all left me hanging, with BO by about 10 am every day. Oh and I forgot to mention, I was working full time still. Smelling not nasty was kind of important in a professional office environment. So I reapplied and reapplied and reapplied that deo, day after day after day. Sadly, I didn’t discover effective homemade deodorant until AFTER my second son was born. A friend at my MOPS group was making some during one of our meetings and so I tried it. The large amount of baking soda irritated my skin, but I didn’t smell! It was amazing. So I got the recipe, and tinkered with it until I had a product that was both gentle and effective. And I’d like to share it with you!

Here’s what you need:

Baking Soda: 1/4 cup

Arrowroot Powder: 1/4 cup

Corn Starch: 1/4 cup

Coconut Oil: 6 Tbsp, melted or at room temp (just not solid)

Essential Oils: Just a few drops of each for a small batch. I always use tea tree oil, but also enjoy adding, cedar, rosemary, lavender, geranium, or whatever my mood dictates.

Other things I like to add: 1-2 drops grapefruit seed extract, a dropper full of emu oil, and maybe a tsp of Vitamin E Oil.

Mix together in a bowl using a spatula. The spatula is useful for smashing up the little pieces of powder that don’t want to incorporate. If you want to make an enormous batch, the ratios are 3/4 cup of each powder and a little over a cup of coconut oil. Obviously increase the essential oil amount for a bigger batch. When I make a big batch I usually use my stand mixer. I use a wide mouth mason jar with a plastic lid for storage. Applying the deo is easy, just swipe up a little with your finger and spread it evenly onto your underarm.

If any of your make this I would love to know how it turns out 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

