Never a lunk. Plus my favorite summertime crock pot recipe

See this picture?

image

Sorry it’s blurry. I had to take the picture real quick like before I died of embarrassment. Because a pull down bar fell on my head. You know, the extra big bar for lat pull downs? Because the y doesn’t have a lat pull down machine, so I thought, it’s ok I’ll just use this here pulley station and sit on my knees on the ground. And what do you know I went to increase the weight and of course the second I pulled the pin out of the stack of weights the bar came crashing onto my head. So sad because I was totally zoning on some Usher feeling like a bad ass weight lifting mama too. Welp at least you know I will never judge your gym faux pas. Unless you have bad form. That, my friends, is unforgivable and just down right dangerous 🙂

I tried a new thing today: kettlebell swings. I watched lots of YouTube videos to make sure I used proper form, and since it was my first time using a kettlebell, I kept the weight fairly light. I have to say, it was pretty fun. I think the biggest reason I’m enjoying this weight lifting program is because it’s getting me out of my comfort zone. I would never, in the past, have tried ANY plyometric exercises. But I have to say, they are pretty fun. Quick tip though, if you don’t have a partner for medicine ball chest passes and have to throw the ball at the wall instead, do it from your knees instead of standing. As to avoid a very heavy ball from hitting you square in the crotch. I speak from experience folks.

Now, onto the delicious food making. I call this my Crock Pot Pork Roast Chili. It’s perfect for many different seasons. But I really love it for the summer because you can just leave your crock pot on low all day long and it doesn’t heat up your ENTIRE KITCHEN just to make dinner. I also love this recipe because it is high in protein, fiber, and has great complex carbs. I’ve got 2 variations for you, the most simplest version, and one that is more complex. Feel free to take yours to any level.

Crock Pot Pork Roast Chili. The simplest version.

Approximately 2 lb pork roast
1 jar high quality tomatillo salsa
1 15 oz can diced tomatoes
1 Tbsp cumin

Place all ingredients in crock pot and cook on lowest setting for about 4 hours until roast is cooked thru. Remove pork and shred with a fork. Serve over brown rice or quinoa, top with avocado, cilantro, lime juice and Chicaoji if you like 🙂

Complex version

image

2 cups dried beans of choice, soaked overnight then rinsed
1 large sweet onion, diced
2 lb pork roast
1 30 oz can fire roasted tomatoes
1 cup dry quinoa
1 small or medium sweet potato or yam, peeled and diced
Chicken or beef stock, or vegetable broth as needed
1 small can diced chiles or authentic spicy salsa
1 cup red wine
6 cloves minced garlic
2 Tbsp cumin
1 Tbsp smoked paprika
1 Tbsp oregano
1 Tbsp cocoa powder
Sea salt to taste

Place diced onion, quinoa, soaked and rinsed beans, pork roast, sweet potato or yam, canned tomatoes, canned chiles or salsa, red wine, and broth or stock as needed in crock pot and cook on lowest setting (mine is “keep warm”) for several hours. After a few hours or once pork is cooked through, remove roast from crock, shred, and place back in crock along with the garlic and dried spices. Add water or broth if necessary. Cook for a few more hours on lowest setting. Serve hot with avocado, cilantro, and hot sauce.

Enjoy!

Ps, the second recipe makes a lot of food and is great if your family likes leftovers, like mine does!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Never a lunk. Plus my favorite summertime crock pot recipe

  1. Justine

    Hope your head and neck are ok but I am glad you are laughing at yourself a bit so your ego is ok too! 😉

    This dinner looked scrumptious in the pic you posted. May have to try this soon!

Leave a Reply

