Blogging again!

So! It’s been awhile since my last blog post…like…a really long while. I don’t really care about being a blogger so to speak, but I need somewhere to track my diet and fitness, as well as some parenting, lifestyle and church happenings, and I think a blog would be the perfect place to do that. So, if you care to follow my life, feel free!

This week I started a new weight lifting plan. I was doing strength and interval classes at the gym but I realized my fitness level was plateauing and I wasn’t getting where I wanted to be so I decided to take the plunge and start lifting weights again. I haven’t really lifted since college. So I was nervous to start and am still nervous every time I step into the free weights area, but I’m doing my best to get over it and not care what all the beefy people think! I’m also still practicing yoga twice a week because I feel that I need that time, mentally, to stay centered. Yoga keeps me grounded and helps maintain my sanity. I know it sounds cheesy but I don’t care! It also helps stretch out my crazy sore muscles and keeps my core incredibly strong.

The program I’m following is called The Female Training Bible and it’s free on bodybuilding.com. Actually I started it today because I accidentally did the wrong workout on Monday – oops! Anywho, the workouts are basic, short, and intense and I’m loving them so far. I had never used a foam roller before, but the program has you start by stretching out with one before every workout and it is amazing! It’s like a free massage where you control the intensity.

I was nervous today doing some of the exercises, like weighted hip thrust and box jumps. They’re things I’ve never done before and I felt silly and like I looked weird doing them. But I’m glad I did it anyway. My body will never change for the better if I don’t challenge it. I also just about died doing the high intensity interval training (hiit) on the treadmill. I’m really hoping my cardio improves with these workouts as well. I’m not a cardio girl, though I used to be, and I’d love my fitness level to be back to where I feel comfortable running 5, 6, 7, or even 8, 9 or 10 miles again. I did it once, I’m just not interested in marathon training anymore – just getting stronger and leaner, so while I don’t really see the purpose in long cardio sessions, I know they are extremely beneficial to my heart and metabolism so I want to keep them up and improve if I can.

Breakfast today was 2 slices of gluten free toast with almond butter on one and homamade low sugar plum jam on the other, and coffee of course. Lunch was a little weird because I indulged at a friend’s birthday party and ate TWO vegan gluten free puddings with blueberries, so when I came home I wasn’t very hungry and just had 1 1/2 organic turkey patties (with pesto in them yum) dipped in some homemade roasted garlic dressing and a handful of pecans. Dinner tonight will be slow cooker kalbi beef with brown rice and eggplant. I’m pretty stoked about dinner! I’m hoping to post photos of my eats in the future 🙂

Anyone have any tips for stretching out shins? Seriously mine are SO sore!

Alright that’s all for now, wish me luck with my new fitness adventure! And I will be checking in again soon.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Blogging again!

  1. Justine

    For shins, I TAPE before trying something new or something I know irks my shins… Or days after I serve at work since my calves are always tight. Calf tightness is positively correlated to shin splints (booo for me). For stretching, I find it helps to sit on my knees (vajrasana style) and slowly lean back, digging my ankles into the ground until I feel little pull in the shin muscles. That and practicing plantar/dorsiflexion of my feet/ankles in from a laying position than to a standing position.

    Go girl, lifting is bad ass and I am excited for you! I will start crossfit on Monday and am looking forward to the group support.

Leave a Reply

